Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – May 2015

Wow, we’re here already. The garden is romping away; in green at least. Not so much with the blooms though. I would appreciate a little more in flower, but it’s early yet and after last year I’d rather things be late than bloom early, as by August we had nothing left (although saying this, I think we have exactly the same blooming now, as we did last year).

So far none of the Camassias have bloomed and I haven’t spotted any sign of them developing stems, instead they have produced masses of leaves… I think I might have to remove them. Although it does seem strange that none at all are blooming. I can understand losing some. But not all and they’re in two different areas of the garden.

I think I’m going to attempt to take some Erysimum cuttings… I say might. Generally because taking cuttings is beyond my skills and patience so they’re unlikely to survive and/or root.

The mixed weather really seems to have helped the garden as it’s all very lush at the moment. We’ve had sun and some rain for the last week or so, which makes it much easier for me as I don’t have to water so much. Even the pots seem to be fairing well.

This is the first time the Ajuga has produced such a massive bloom… Normally they’re only small. I actually thought I’d lost them all over the years so it’s nice to see one pop up again and maybe even manage to produce more for me.

More to come, soon. I promise.

Bleeding heart this year is its best ever. I’ve never had one with so many large branches. Normally I have one stem and that’s it. Then below we have the ‘almost theres’ with Clematis ‘Marjorie’, Delphinium and Rosarie de l’hay.

Alliums are opening and we have more each year even though I haven’t planted any for at least 5 years. I think we’re at over 40 in this border now and there are many, many more babies beneath which left will no doubt also bloom.

Macrorrhizum Geraniums are flowering and also have grown very well, I regularly snap off a few branch, arm, type things and they quickly fill in.

Totally Tangerine is here! Soon to be used in a vase near you.

For the last couple of years I’ve tried hard keeping Herb Robert contained, of course it doesn’t work but at least it’s very brittle and easily snapped or pulled out. I wouldn’t be without it… I just also don’t quite want it every where. I gave my mum my dwarf Korean Lilac last year, in the pot was a small Herb Robert, I asked if she wanted to keep it or if I should remove it. She’d kept it and it’s now completely covering the bottom of the lilac. I’m looking forward to laughing at her next year when we see how far and how many babies there are. I did warn her.

Copyright 2015 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

6 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – May 2015

  1. May is a wonderful month in the garden when all the flowers start opening, so many new ones each day. Glad to see you have your forget me nots, they are such a wonderful blue, I wouldn’t be without mine!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Sadly no white FMNs this year, but I do have a pink which is now being swamped by the blues. I prefer the whites though if I had to chose between pink and white. I think I’ll have some in a vase soon; last weekend I made some cute vases with my mum – FMN, wild Garlic and Geraniums blooms in a set of small milk bottles I bought for her. I didn’t have my camera at the time so will try to recreate it… I just don’t have any wild garlic here.

  2. Everything is coming along nicely Liz. Things very slow here too, I’m getting impatient.
    As usual your planting combos are wonderful and really get the most out of each plant. Having succumb to Geum TT via your blog, I now must get me some FMN. The large bleeding heart is a cracker, all here crushed with winds and rain. Pity, as they were just coming into their own.

  3. Sweet bluebells! I planted some and they grew without flowering for two springs, but have finally bloomed a little this year. I guess they take a loooong time to get established, eh? I think this year we’re about even with you for the progression of the season – I can’t believe that I have so many rose buds right now. A couple of years ago the roses didn’t bloom until July, but this year I’ll have some blooms by the end of May. And my TT geum is getting started nicely, yay. Enjoy your spring!

Leave a Reply

