In a Vase on Monday

It’s very much rose season chez moi. I plan on doing a post with a bloom from each rose in the front garden in the coming days/weeks. I’m just waiting for fresh blooms to open on one of the roses as typically the petals have just began to fall as I decided to go out and make my vase.
So instead we’ll stick to the wonderful Roseraie de L’hay which is having another very good year with many, many blooms on it. I’ve begun to cut it back quite hard as each bloom finishes and if there are no other buds waiting to flower. This is because it’s become very tall – too tall – and many of the branches were bent in heavy snow over winter so they’re leaning into the garden a lot. The idea is to prune it and encourage it to produce new branches further down, but also to produce branches which go into the centre of the shrub; thus creating a nice dense shrub.

Roseraie De L’Hay

Roseraie De L’Hay

Roseraie De L’Hay

Then one large bloom from Gertrude Jekyll. My camera always seems to blow out her colours (and Roserie), must be the tone that it doesn’t like. In fact, it usually also struggles with Tess of the D’Urbervilles.

Gertrude Jekyll

Please pop over to Cathy’s blog for more vase posts.

Copyright 2015 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

7 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday

    • Hi Donna,

      Thank you very much; I’m really enjoying how many I vases I have at any one time. I almost always have at least three full at the moment.

  1. Beautiful! Makes all those prickly pruning jobs worth it. My Gertrude Jekyll was growing as a climber and finally starting to get going when all the stems split longitudinally at the base and died. I think it was caused by the heat of the sun bouncing off the white fence behind her, so I transplanted her to a new (and hopefully better) spot. We’ll see. I’m crossing my fingers, because Gertrude does have the most beautiful, fragrant flowers.

Leave a Reply

